Ania Dabrowska: “Coming To Terms With. Jeff Mc Crory: Fed Up, Self-Pity, Anger, Still Alive. 4 May 2012”, Photography and Text

adjective [ predic. ]

annoyed or upset at a situation or treatment.

I am fed up with my shower still being broken.  It’s a pain in the ass.  I have to wash in the sink. 

I am fed up with being disabled.  Osteoporosis, diabetics… they control my daily activities.  

I am fed up with taking all this medication on daily basis.

I am fed up feeling inadequate to do the things I want to.

noun

excessive, self-absorbed unhappiness over one’s own troubles.

 I have been feeling self-pity last week.  I am held back from the things that I would like to do.  I am a young man with no future.  People may say “It is all in the mind”, I say “Bullshit”.  That is the anger coming out. 

|a ng grē|

adjective

having a strong feeling of or showing annoyance, displeasure, or hostility; full of anger:

Why am I feeling angry?

I am an angry “Customer”.  I am an angry man.  I am frustrated.  

I am angry because I feel powerless about this feeling.

 figurative (of the sea or sky) stormy, turbulent, or threatening:

 the wild, angry sea – a rage is filling my soul

|əlīv|

adjective [ predic. ]

1 (of a person, animal, or plant) living, not dead:

I am still alive at least – that gives me a feeling of hope.  Knowing that I am still alive is the only positive I can think of in my life.

 • (of a feeling or quality) continuing in existence:

What is keeping my hope alive?  Thinking about my family and friends.  My family is far away.  Friends are around.  I get a feeling of belonging when I think about them or when I am with them.

• continuing to be supported or in use :

I feel alive when I speak to people close to me.  I feel alive when I am working on this project with you; it is something that gives me a sense of purpose.  I feel alive listening to music too.

 2 (of a person or animal) alert and active; animated:

 I come alive when I come to this art studio.  I come alive when I take my self-pity out of my head, when anger is not in the forefront of my feelings. 

• figurative having interest and meaning:

 I hope I will come alive when I eventually start my stained glass windows course and go to Ireland in August.  These are the things that keep me going.

3 (alive to) aware of and interested in; responsive to:

I want to be always alive to new ideas.  I am alive to new ideas.

 PHRASES

alive and kicking informal prevalent and very active:

I am still alive and kicking.

alive and well still existing or active (often used to deny rumors or beliefs that something has disappeared or declined):

I don’t know about “well”.  I am existing.  I want to feel well despite of the hurdles of my life.

look alive another term for look lively (see lively).

I don’t feel that I look lively or look alive. I have no energy.  It’s gone.

THE RIGHT WORD

Dead is dead, but one can be alive to varying degrees. The broadest of these terms describing what has life or shows signs of having it, alive can refer to what barely exists. Living, on the other hand, is more limited in scope and implies the condition of not being dead. Anything that is essential to life is vital.

 I don’t want to feel that ‘still alive’ is the only positive thing I can think of.   At 42, I am the youngest of my family.  A sense of belonging is vital to my happiness.  Life is for living, not existing. 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Jeff Mc Crory, Participants' Portfolios and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

